Book 4 of the World War Two Series

On Sale Now

The New Historical Novel by #1 Bestselling, Award-Winning Historical Fiction Author Samuel Marquis

LIONS OF THE DESERT is the true story of the WWII 1941-1942 Desert War in North Africa and Operation Condor, a story that has captivated the minds of authors, historians, and filmmakers for three-quarters of a century.

The story is told through the eyes of five legendary historical figures that lived through the epic events: Scottish Colonel David Stirling, leader of the Special Air Service, a brigade of eccentric desert commandos that raided Axis airfields and supply lines; German Field Marshal Erwin Rommel, commander of the vaunted Africa Corps, who very nearly succeeded in driving the British out of Egypt; Egyptian Hekmat Fahmy, the famous belly dancer, regarded as a Mata-Hari-like German agent in previous accounts but in fact a far more intriguing and ambiguous character in real life; Major A.W. Sansom, head of the British Field Security unit that hunted down Axis spies and pro-German Egyptian nationalists operating in Cairo; and Johannes Eppler, the notorious German spy of Operation Condor whose real story is finally told.

Fans of Beneath A Scarlet Sky, The English Patient, and the WWII novels of Ken Follett (The Key to Rebecca, Jackdaws, Eye of the Needle) will enjoy this timeless tale of WWII espionage, romance, and derring-do in the North African desert–with the knowledge that this is how it all really happened.

icon_indiebound-sm

icon-barnes-and-noble-smicon-itunes-smicon-kobo-smicon-amazon BUY NOW
icon-tattered-cover-sm

JOIN THE MAILING LIST

Sign up for my mailing list to receive a FREE COPY of The Slush Pile Brigade (#1 Denver Post Bestseller and Award-Winning Finalist Beverly Hills Books Awards) or Blind Thrust (#1 Denver Post Bestseller and Winner of the Foreword Reviews’ Book of the Year Awards (HM) and I’ll keep you informed about future Samuel Marquis thrillers.

FOLLOW SAMUEL

icon-twittericon-linked-inicon-googleicon-fbicon-fb

#1 DENVER POST BESTSELLING AUTHOR; WINNER OF KIRKUS REVIEWS AND FOREWORD REVIEWS BOOK OF THE YEAR, INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER, BEVERLY HILLS, AND NEXT GENERATION INDIE BOOK AWARDS; AWARD-WINNING FINALIST FOR USA AND AMERICAN BOOK FEST BEST BOOK AWARDS AND COLORADO BOOK AWARDS

“Samuel Marquis grabs my attention right from the beginning and never lets go.”

Gov. Roy R. Romer, 39th Governor of Colorado

The Coalition has a lot of good action and suspense and an unusual female assassin.”

James Patterson, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

“In his novels Blind Thrust and Cluster of Lies, Samuel Marquis vividly combines the excitement of the best modern techno-thrillers.”

Ambassador Marc Grossman, Former U.S. Under Secretary of State